Stop

Drip,

drop,

drip,

drop,

please,

stop,

before,

I drown,

In this pool of misery.

 

 

 

Every time I hold her hand as she cries about him.It makes me wonder why we fall in-love, what the whole point of being vulnerable to someone who has the ability to fill you with so much joy, and at the same time, so much pain. At times, it hurts me more than it does her.

‘You deserve better’, that is what I always say. Pull her close and tell her that everything is going to be okay. “But, will he change?” she asks,”Will he ever change??”, “Please tell me he’ll change” she looks into my eyes.

“Baby girl, if he were to change, wouldn’t he would have done that by now? Maybe, he is waiting for a sign, or maybe, he does not know what he wants or how he wants it. Maybe he is as confused about this thing as  much as you are, or, maybe he is just using you. So  many maybe’s”, I shake my head in confusion.

“What if he’s the one???”she sobs.

“What is the one?” I ask.

“The one who completes you, the one who builds with you, the one who is there for you through it all” she says with so much conviction.

“But, aren’t you as complete as you need to be without him here? Isn’t he supposed to complement you and be by your side as your teammate? Not a requirement to be complete? Are we all wandering around in search for the one? Moving from lover to lover, seeking the perfect fit? Do you think that he is your perfect fit? Despite all these tears?” I ask.

She looks at me, buries her head on my neck…and sobs away. And, holding her, feeling her pain,and… my tears fall.

 

Drip,

drop,

drip,

drop,

please,

stop.

Before,

I drown,

In this pool of misery.

 

 

12:44pm,

21/7/2017

Nairobi, Kenya.

Song: Love is pain- Dej Loaf

 

2 thoughts on “Stop

Leave a Reply

